FOR THE LOVE OF CARBS!!

Bread.

Breakfast; toast. Lunch; sandwich; Snack; more toast. My love of bread needs to stop. From tiger bread to French stick to warburtons thick n toastie, I love them all. FAR too much. Which is why I have decided I need a bread intervention; and I know there are many other bread loving sufferers out there not knowing what to swap the unhealthy loaf with. So, here is a few brief ideas to lend a helping hand and guide you down a similar bread free route I have taken.

A lot of people I know don’t eat bread, they choose bread alternatives for a variety of reasons; some have dietary restrictions and others avoid bread because it contains a lot of calories and carbs. Therefore, want to find a substitute that will coincide with a low carb diet.

So in relation to my clean eating plan; my personal favourite alternative is ‘oopsie bread’. This bread is so simple to make and also very low carb. To make oopsie bread, all you need is eggs, cream cheese, salt and baking powder. I will create a separate blog post on how to make this type of bread as a few friends have asked for a demonstration! so keep your eyes peeled.

A second alternative when the pizza craving hits you hard; is corn or whole wheat Tortillas. Using these as a base to tomatoes and cheese is a much healthier way to give in to those bad pizza cravings (of course they can be used for other foods too – are you more of a wrap or burger kind of gal?). Again you can make these following a simple recipe (there are loads out there) but can be bought in almost every food shop around. Corn tortillas are gluten-free and high in fibre, which mean this is a perfect option for those who are unable to eat gluten.

Even though I love bread and I do miss it from my diet, replacing it with big-leafed greens like lettuce or romaine lettuce is a great substitution. I recently saw this green idea on Joe Wicks’ ‘Lean in 15’ instagram and thought I’d give it a try. Filling the leaves is easy, include any sort of meat, veggies and even cheese if you want. Lettuce leaves are always very fresh and much lower in calories than bread based wraps so a very good alternative.

As far as bread substitutions go, these are the three main ones I stick to. If you do a little more research you will find there are so many other ways to avoid conventional bread. I hope I have helped you with a few ideas, and leave any comments and contributions to this post on the comment box below! I love hearing from you!
The Food Deity x

Drawing (6)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

