Lettuce Leaf Burritos

I never really thought I liked burritos, I mean they never really did much for me. When at a Mexican why choose burrito when you can choose fajitas or enchiladas? (atleast that’s what i thought about 6 months ago).

At university I have found that getting bored during days off is inevitable. So many times my house mates and I have found ourselves wandering around Leeds thinking of something to do. This sort of stuff usually ends up in going out for food and usually NOT attending the gym – where we should be.

So one boring day in Leeds, I walked into town with a friend as they wanted to get a burrito. He swears by them by the way, the best thing that ever happened to him. Anyway, we go Trinity Kitchen ‘Tortilla’ Burrito bar and he offers to buy me one. Ive never been one to turn down food.. ever. so of course I accept.

and I must say, my opinion completely changed. it was the nicest food i had ever bought from Trinity Kitchen! i would recommend massively.. unless you aren’t willing to eat 1000 calories in one sitting, then maybe you wont. yep. one THOUSAND calories. in one burrito! absuuuuuurd! my thoughts exactly. So, this moves me nicely onto the yummy healthy gem lettuce leaf burritos I made last week with my housemate.

Lettuce wraps are a favorite of mine. I crave them daily, and I must say for good reason — they’re quick and easy to make, healthy, and such a fun change! If you like lettuce wraps as much as I do, you will love these burritos.

 

What You’ll Need

  • Coconut Oil
  • Turkey mince
  • 1 Can Chickpeas
  • 2 Peppers
  • 1 Red Onion
  • Chopped Tomatoes
  • 1 avocado
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Coriander
  • Lime Juice
  • Garlic

Show me ya salsa:
Firstly, chop the red onion and tomatoes into small bits. Finely chop the coriander and add it to the onions and tomato. Mix thoroughly and add a splash of lime juice.

Guacamooooooole:
Cut the avocado in half and remove the stone. Secondly remove both sides of the avocado from its skin and place in a bowl. Take a knife and a fork and continuously cut the avocado until in small pieces. Then take the fork alone and mush the avocado up as much as you prefer. Add a pinch of salt and a splash of lime juice.

The gorge-bag filling:

  1. Heat the coconut oil in a large frying pan. Fry the garlic and peppers for 1 min. Add the mince, then cook on a high heat until golden brown, breaking it up with a wooden spoon as you go.
  2. Add the tin of chopped tomatoes, chickpeas and a dash of lime juice then simmer for 10 minutes
  3. Add a dash of lime juice and shredded lime leaves, then cook everything down until sticky.
  4. Tip the mince into a serving bowl, then serve with a bowl of lettuce leaves for wrapping the mince in; the herbs, shallots and peanuts for scattering over; and the lime wedges for squeezing.

I promise, if you like lettuce you will love these! A much healthier way to eat Mexican. I hope you enjoy and let me know what you think in the comments section!!
The Food Deity x

 

Drawing (6)

Leave a Reply

